International Child Safeguarding Standards

There are four International Child Safeguarding Standards

Standard 1: Policy

The organisation develops a policy that describes how it is committed to preventing and responding appropriately to, harm to children

Standard 2: People

The organisation places clear responsibilities and expectations on its staff and associates and supports them to understand and act in line with these

Standard 3: Procedures

The organisation creates a child-safe environment through implementing child safeguarding procedures that are applied across the organisation

Standard 4: Accountability

The organisation monitors and reviews its safeguarding measures

General principles

The Standards are based on the following set of principles:

  • All children have equal rights to protection from harm.
  • Everybody has a responsibility to support the protection of children.
  • Organisations have a duty of care to children with whom they work, are in contact with, or who are affected by their work and operations.
  • If organisations work with partners they have a responsibility to help partners meet the minimum requirements on protection.
  • All actions on child safeguarding are taken in the best interests of the child, which are paramount.

To implement the Standards across your organisation download the easy to use guidance: Keeping Children Safe standards and how to implement them.